Online Renewals Will be required Beginning August 1 2019

General Renewal Information

Pursuant to G.S. § 90-632, all Licensed Massage and Bodywork Therapists are required to renew their licenses every two years. Detailed information on how to complete this process, and the Application for License Renewal, may be found at the Document Center.

The North Carolina Board does not pre-approve continuing education. If you need to confirm whether a course is approved, please contact the National Board at 1-800-296-0664, or at However, please know that the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy does not accept courses in animal massage for CE credit.  The Board does accept courses in HIV \ AIDS \ Hepatitis but not for the ethics requirement.

Please refer to the following Board literature for detailed information on license renewal:
    Guideline 5 (all)
    Rules .0701 and .0702
    Practice Act N.C.G.S. 90-632
    Orientation Book Page 4

Overview of Requirements for License Renewal

1)    Fill out the Application for License Renewal.  This document is available on this website in the Document Center.

2)    Attach documentation of approved continuing education you have completed during this licensure period. For courses taken with NCBTMB-approved providers ­ include a photocopy of each certificate of completion. For courses taken at accredited colleges or universities ­ include a photocopy of certificate of completion or school transcript which lists credits and grades earned.  Continuing education can be taken between August 1 of the immediately preceding renewal period and November 1 of the year the licensee's renewal is due, as long as the continuing education was not submitted for the prior renewal.

3)    Submit the application and documentation with the $100.00 renewal fee (for two years) made payable to the North Carolina Board of Massage & Bodywork Therapy. Payment is non-refundable, and may ONLY be made in the form of a certified check, money order, or personal check. Cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Your application must be received in the Board Office or postmarked by November 1, preceding the December 31st expiration date listed on your license. If you want confirmation that your application has been received by the Board, you must request that service from the Post Office or private carrier.

Licensees who do not meet this deadline will be assessed a $75.00 late renewal fee and will receive a Letter of Reprimand, and may also be subject to disciplinary action. Please include a letter stating whether or not you have been practicing massage and bodywork therapy in NC since your license expired.  It is essential that you meet all requirements in order to keep your license in force. Thank you in advance for your attention to this process.

If a license has been expired for  more than 24 months, it cannot be renewed.  The holder of such a license must apply for a new license, according to the requirements in place at the time they apply.  The first step in re-applying is to download the Application Request Form from the Document Center, follow the instructions and submit the form to the Board.  Once the form is received in the Board office, you will then be mailed an application packet.